Howard Lake Herald, November 9, 1998

Danford to join Howard Lake council right away

The Howard Lake City Council will have three new faces in January.

The new mayor will be Gerry Smith, who received 613 votes, running unopposed. He was placed on the ballot by petition after the death of Al LePage, who had been the only candidate to file for that office.

Don Danford won the two-year council with 459 votes to 264 for Vern Kleve.

The council will appoint Danford to the position Nov. 17 because he will complete the remaining term of LePage. Other winners won't take office until January.

In the contest for two four-year terms on the city council, Shelly Reddemann (467) and John Swanson (395) were elected. Incumbent Jean Schmidt received 345 votes.

The on-sale Sunday liquor license passed by a margin of 450 to 328 votes.

There were 863 registered voters, and 178 new registrants were recorded on election day. A total of 788 ballots were cast, giving a 76 percent turnout.

City of Waverly

Incumbent Mayor Charles Bush (279 votes) and Council member John Hertzog (260) both retained their seats.

They were the only candidates to file in Waverly's election.

The second council seat available will be filled by Pam Henry-Neaton who received 101 write-in votes to 28 write-ins for Mary Reardon.

There were 382 registered voters with 59 new registrations.

Waverly had an 80 percent voter turn-out with a total of 356 ballots returned.

Wright County

The race for auditor/treasurer was won by Douglas Gruber (18,224 votes) over Steven Hjelmeland (13,179). Gruber is currently Wright County assessor.

Tom Kelly won the county attorney position with 23,318 votes to 8,757 for Bill MacPhail.

County commissioner Dick Mattson, who represents the local area in District 5, received another term while running unopposed.

So did Commissioner Pat Sawatzke in District 2, however, incumbent Judie Rose was defeated in District 4 by Elmer Eichelberg.

Dick Borrell of Waverly (16,203) won a three-way race with Morris Corhouse (5,281) and Harold Peter (6,660) for District 3 Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor.

Gabe Davidson (14,932) won over Ron Uter (13,003) for Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor for District 4.

Other uncontested winners at the county level were Recorder Marcia Lantto, Sheriff Don Hozempa, and District 2 Soil and Water Conservation Supervisor Mark LeFebvre.

There were 43,387 registered voters at 7 a.m. on election day, but Wright County registered 7,379 new voters. The total number of persons voting was 37,531.

State Representative

District 20B Representative Tony Kielkucki (8,618), rural Lester Prairie, was returned to office, fending off a challenge from Mari Pokornowski of Cokato (6,723). It will be Kielkucki's second term.

U. S. Representative

Second District United States Representative David Minge was returned to office over opponents Craig Duehring and Stan Bentz.

Back to Current Stories Menu | Back to Archives List

Howard Lake Herald & Winsted-Lester Prairie Journal
Stories | Columns | Classifieds | Obituaries
Community Guides | Special Topics | Cool Stuff | SEARCH | Home Page