Howard Lake Herald, September 14, 1998

Wright County 4-H'ers do well at State Fair

By Dennis Moeller, U of M Extension Service

Nearly 60 youth and a dozen adults participated in a wide variety of activities at the Minnesota Sate Fair, Aug. 29 - 31. These 4-Hers were involved with non-animal projects and activities. The 4-Hers showing animals attended the fair over Labor Day weekend.

The great experience that Wright County 4-Hers had is due in large part to the many adult helpers who assist the 4-Hers at the fair. The adult advisors who stayed with the 4-Hers in the dorms included Marilyn Chopp, Jerry Miessen, Lisa Riley, Dawn Sawatzke, Merijo Strandquist, Cyndi Stifter, and Gary Swearingen.

4-H program assistant, Mary Ann Peterson, also worked with the adult advisors to help the 4-Hers throughout the weekend.

The Wright County 4-Hers all did a great job representing Wright County at the fair. One of the special awards for Wright County 4-Hers was the top educational award in fishing sports.

Turner Sawatzke of Waverly received the Lathan Sopoci award, which is in remembrance of Lathan who died in a fishing/boating accident. Sawatzke received a very nice rod and reel for his 4-H project, a large northern on which Sawatzke had done the taxidermy work.

A number of 4-Hers earned the helping hands award for contributions to the community through their 4-H club or project work. Receiving 4-H helping hands awards were Emily Sorsoleil of Howard Lake, Angie Forsythe and Brook Swearingen of Maple Lake, Bob Johnson and Jacob Workman of Delano, Beth Peterson and Megan Kowalke of Buffalo, Joelle Strandquist of Mayer, and Maureen Riley of St. Michael.

Several Wright County 4-Hers received purple awards for their project work. The purple award winners included Curtis Johnson of Howard Lake in small engines, Turner Sawatzke of Waverly in fishing sports, Marie LeVoir of Maple Lake in cats, Joe Miessen of Annandale in Aerospace, Beth Peterson of Buffalo in water wetlands, Rosamond Sievert of Clearwater in clothing, Brooke Swearingen of Maple Lake in safety, Anne Wetter of Buffalo in needle arts, Sam Henningson of Monticello in photography, Clint Pouliot of Loretto in lawn and landscape, Kristopher Schneider of Delano in electricity and Jacob Workman of Delano in clowning.

Also receiving special recognition in fashion revue by being named to the court of honor was Aaron Marquette of Buffalo.

There are a number of projects in which participation awards are given but not blue, red or white ribbons. Receiving participation awards in fashion revue were Amy Strandquist of Mayer, and Kathy Swart and Sara Wolf of Delano. Receiving participation awards in creative arts were Stephanie Tenhoff of Cokato and James Walz of Buffalo.

Wright County 4-Hers receiving blue ribbon awards included Eric Stifter of Howard Lake in wildlife, Emily Sorsoleil of Howard Lake in lawn and landscape, Carrie Paetow of Waverly in foods, Andy Sawatzke of Waverly in environment, Joe Sawatzke in fishing sports, Bonnilee Buisman of Clear Lake in vet science, Andrea Chopp of Buffalo in clothing, and Jessica Chopp of Buffalo in home environment.

Tony Dahlman of Cokato in plant and soil science, Joe Fadgen of Rogers in shop, Molly Fiedler of Buffalo in shop, Angie Forsythe of Maple Lake in photography, Robert Johnson of Delano in youth leadership, Ben Pratt of Rogers in computer, Josh Pratt of Rogers in video, Julie Sonsteby of South Haven in self determined, and Joelle Strandquist of Mayer in needle arts.

Holly Swearingen of Maple Lake in child development, Heidi Tenhoff of Cokato in indoor gardening, Paul Wetter of Buffalo in corn, Matt Lindberg of Clearwater in small engines, Josh Paumen of Maple Lake in self determined, Dennis Ross of Delano in aerospace, Amanda Schleif of Maple Lake in small grains, Nicholas Sjolin of Hanover in wildlife, Nan Spike of Montrose in citizenship and Luther Workman of Delano in forestry.

Also receiving blues and representing the Hanover Honey Bees 4-H Club in the community pride contest were Megan Kowalke of Buffalo and Maureen Riley of St. Michael.

Several Wright County 4-Hers gave project demonstrations (which is a "show and tell" type of presentation) at the state fair. Receiving blue ribbons for their demonstrations were Tony Dahlman, Mary Jo Geldert of Annandale, Brooke and Holly Swearingen, and Kristine Ertl of Cokato.

Receiving a red award for their project work included Jo Decker of Waverly in pets, Amanda Kalinowski of Delano in foods, Christine Patterson of Buffalo in foods, David Sonsteby of South Haven in photography, and Kristine Ertl of Cokato in pets.

Another special group of 4-Hers representing Wright County at the state fair was the Clever Clover 4-H Club which performed their Share the Fun act. The club is centered in the Buffalo area and those participating included Andrea Chopp, Jessica Chopp, Angie Forsythe, Joe Hance, Larry Marquette, Angela Patterson, Christine Patterson, Matthew Patterson, James Walz, Anne Wetter, Paul Wetter, and Lindsey Young. Frank Patterson and Marilyn Chopp were adult helpers for the club.

Wright County folks also made a strong contribution to state fair as Kathy Workman was a judge in the natural science area, Dawn Sawatzke assisted in needle arts and Lisa Riley assisted in the vet science project. Sean Boll, a Wright County 4-H alumni, is the overall dorm supervisor for all 4-H housing.

State fair means friends, fun, and a great learning experience for 4-Hers and leaders. We had great representation by an excellent group of youth and a great group of helpers. State fair gives us a chance to celebrate the successes of our youth and families.

If you have questions about 4-H, learning through 4-H projects, and family fun, contact the Extension Office at 612-682-7394 or (800) 362-3667.

Back to Current Stories Menu | Back to Archives List

Howard Lake Herald & Winsted-Lester Prairie Journal
Stories | Columns | Classifieds | Obituaries
Community Guides | Special Topics | Cool Stuff | SEARCH | Home Page