Winsted-Lester Prairie Journal, November 9, 1998

Lester Prairie voters oust incumbents

A political house-cleaning by late write-in campaigns resulted in all three Lester Prairie incumbents being removed from office in Tuesday's election.

Only incumbents Mayor Ed Mlynar and Council members Stan Ehrke and Larry Peterson were on the ballot, but all three lost by large margins to write-in candidates.

Former mayor Eric Angvall was elected to that position with 447 votes to 193 for Mlynar.

In the council race, Larry Hoof (441 votes) and Roland Bruckschen (418) were elected over Ehrke (192) and Peterson (114). Write-in candidate Mark Rath received 23 votes.

Lester Prairie boasted the highest voter turnout in McLeod County with 671 votes being cast out of 674 registered voters.

City of Winsted

With longtime Mayor Don Guggemos stepping down, Floyd Sneer was elected to the mayor's position with 480 votes to 394 for Aaron Wiemiller.

In the five-way council race for two seats, incumbent Gary Lenz was elected with 493 votes as was former council member Tom Wiemiller with 469. Following them were Jeff Albers with 383, incumbent Bonnie Quast with 359, and Lindy Rubel with 57.

Winsted had 974 votes cast with 1,053 people registered as voters. There were 172 new registrants on election day.

McLeod County

Wayne Vinkemeier will replace his supervisor, Duane Kopesky, as McLeod County Sheriff in 1999. Kopesky announced his retirement earlier in the year.

Vinkemeier gathered 10,186 votes county-wide to 4,658 for Glencoe police officer Scott Stumpf.

The other contested county race was for treasurer, with incumbent Linda Radtke defeating Mark Erickson 11,444 to 3,204.

County officials being re-elected while running unopposed were Attorney Michael Junge, Auditor Cindy Schultz, and Recorder Carmen Ostlie Mulder.

Fourth District County Commissioner Sheldon Nies was re-elected over challenger Robert Anderson by a margin of 1,617 to 1,267.

Second District Commissioner Melvin Dose, running unopposed, retained his seat on the county board.

McLeod County reported an 88 percent voter turnout with 17,592 registered voters and 15,448 votes cast.

State Representative

District 20B Representative Tony Kielkucki, rural Lester Prairie, was returned to office, fending off a challenge from Mari Pokornowski of Cokato. It will be Kielkucki's second term.

Kielkucki received 8,618 votes (56 percent) to 6,723 for Pokornowski.


Jesse Ventura's path to the governor's seat had strong support in McLeod County.

Ventura carried all 28 precincts in McLeod County, some by huge margins.

In all, Ventura took 53 percent of the county vote to 31 percent for Norm Coleman and 16 percent for Skip Humphrey.

Back to Current Stories Menu | Back to Archives List

Howard Lake Herald & Winsted-Lester Prairie Journal
Stories | Columns | Classifieds | Obituaries
Community Guides | Special Topics | Cool Stuff | SEARCH | Home Page