Herald and Journal, Sept. 18, 2000

Winsted has crowded election; others mostly incumbents

Local residents will go to the polls Tuesday, Nov. 7 to elect a major and two councilmembers in each of the four cities in the Herald and Journal area.

Filings closed Tuesday, with the following slates of candidates in place:


Three men filed for the mayor position: incumbent Floyd Sneer, Don Guggemos (a former mayor) and Mike Thonvold.

Eight people filed for two council positions: Jeff Albers, Dave Mochinski, Bonnie Quast, Tracy Harnit, Tom Ollig, Bob Kegler, Aaron Wiemiller, and Bernie Lueck.


Incumbent Mayor Charles Bush will seek a third term with no opposition.

Three have filed for the two open council seats: incumbents Jerry McRaith and Gary Olson, plus Ken Hausladen. Olson was recently appointed to finish out the term of Dave Fournier, who had resigned.

Lester Prairie

Incumbent Eric Angvall is running without opposition for mayor.

Two council incumbents, Ron Foust and Rose Halloran, are also running unopposed.

Howard Lake

Howard Lake residents will have only incumbents on its local ballot.

Gerry Smith will run unopposed for mayor, while Tom Kutz and Don Danford will be unopposed for two open council seats.

Back to Current Stories Menu | Back to Archives List

Howard Lake-Waverly Herald & Winsted-Lester Prairie Journal
Stories | Columns | Classifieds | Obituaries
Community Guides | Special Topics | Cool Stuff | Search | Home Page