Herald JournalHoward Lake-Waverly Herald, July 8, 2002

Election races to heat up in Wright County

By Lynda Jensen

Races are heating up for Wright County sheriff, commissioners, and many other seats.

Redistricting carved the Howard Lake and Waverly area into numerous pieces across the board, from the county to state.

There are two county commissioner seats that represent the local area ­ one two-year term, which is currently held by Jack Russek for District 3, and another position for a four-year term held by Dick Mattson for District 5.

Russek's position will serve Woodland Township, Waverly, Delano, Franklin Township, part of Rockford, Rockford Township, and part of Buffalo.

Mattson's position will serve Howard Lake, Montrose Marysville Township, Middleville Township, Southside Township, Stockholm Township, Victor Township, French Lake Township, Cokato Township, Cokato, Maple Lake, South Haven, and Albion Township.

Redistricting caused Waverly and Woodland Township to be transferred to Russek's position.

Maple Lake, South Haven, Stockholm Township, and Albion Township were transferred to Mattson's position.

The local area is divided into three different districts, with District 18B including the City of Howard Lake and Middleville Township, the newly formed District 19B including the cities of Waverly and Montrose, as well as Victor and Woodland townships, and District 19A including Marysville Township.

This caused State Rep. Tony Kielkucki to trade off portions of Wright and Carver counties, formerly known as District 20B), for all of McLeod County (now district 18A).

Previously, Kielkucki represented the Howard Lake area, however, this territory will switch over to Rep. Bob Ness of Dassel, who is not running again. Ness' successor will also cover Middleville, Cokato and Stockholm townships.

This leaves the cities of Waverly and Montrose, as well as the townships of Victor and Woodland, located inside a newly formed district, District 19B.

Howard Lake basically remains inside the same district area, with expanded boundaries, although the dividing line of redistricting again carves up the rest of the area surrounding it.

Previously, Howard Lake's area was known as District 20. It is now known as District 18.

The new District 18 includes all of Meeker and McLeod counties, plus the following cities and townships in Wright County: Howard Lake, Cokato, Annandale, French Lake, Middleville, South Haven, Southside, Stockholm and Corrina.

Waverly is located inside state senate District 19, which includes the cities of Waverly and Montrose, and the townships of Victor, Marysville, Woodland, Chatham, and Albion.

Back to Current Stories Menu | Back to Archives List

Howard Lake-Waverly Herald & Winsted-Lester Prairie Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries
Community Guides | Special Topics | Cool Stuff | Search | Home Page