Herald JournalHerald and Journal, Sept. 16, 2002

Area mayors unopposed, but several new council candidates running

Howard Lake

In Howard Lake, Terry Ostgulen, Vern Kleve, Jean Schmidt, and incumbent Shelly Reddemann filed for the two available council seats. Incumbent John Swanson did not file.

Gerry Smith is seeking another term as mayor without opposition.


In Waverly, three people are seeking two council positions: incumbent Pam Henry-Neaton, Chris Halvorson, and Ken Antil. The other incumbent, John Hertzog, did not file.

Waverly Mayor Charlie Bush filed for re-election and is unopposed.


In Montrose, council incumbents Jeff Mattson and Doug Block are being challenged by Doreen Outley, Sharon Knodel, and Roy Henry, Sr. for two available seats.

The mayor position, held by Charlie Nelson who is running for a Wright County commissioner seat, is not on the ballot this year as mayor is a four-year term in that city.

Lester Prairie

Three people are seeking two available four-year city council seats in Lester Prairie. They are incumbents Larry Hoof and Rollie Bruckschen along with challenger Jeff Hecksel.

There is also a two-year council position up in Lester Prairie, for which Michele Anderson has filed.

Lester Prairie Mayor Eric Angvall is running unopposed to keep his seat.


In Winsted, Mayor Don Guggemos is also unopposed in seeking re-election.

In the council election, Dave Mochinski and the Rev. Gerald Boldt have filed for the two available seats along with incumbent Tom Wiemiller. The other incumbent, Gary Lenz, did not file.

Back to Current Stories Menu | Back to Archives List

Howard Lake-Waverly Herald & Winsted-Lester Prairie Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Search | Home Page