Herald JournalHoward Lake-Waverly Herald, Sept. 16, 2002

Mattson, Nelson to vie for Dist. 5 commissioner seat

By Lynda Jensen

A list of four men was trimmed down to two for the District 5 Wright County Commissioner seat as incumbent Dick Mattson and Montrose Mayor Charlie Nelson emerged victorious in Tuesday's primary election.

Mattson claimed one of two spots easily, earning an average of 44 percent of the votes, with 623 cast in his favor.

Nelson garnered about 28 percent with 400 cast in his favor, edging Cokato farmer Leonard Wozniak who had 335 votes (23 percent).

Bob White, who works for the Wright County Highway Department, trailed with 5 percent, with 73 cast in his favor.

Other local races included the Republican race in State Representative District 18B, with Dean Urdahl winning the Republican spot.

For the state representative seat of District 19B, Dick Borrell claimed the Republican ticket.

Other races include the US Representative District 6 seat, with incumbent Mark Kennedy and challengers Janet Robert, DFL candidate, and Dan Becker, Independent.

For a complete breakdown of primary results, use the secretary of state's web site: www.sos.state.mn.us.

Back to Current Stories Menu | Back to Archives List

Howard Lake-Waverly Herald & Winsted-Lester Prairie Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Search | Home Page