Herald JournalHerald Journal, Dec. 22, 2003

Newman wins primary, special election Dec. 30

By Ryan Gueningsman

A small voter turnout decided that it will be Republican Scott Newman of Hutchinson, against Democrat Lowell Ueland of Glencoe in the District 18A special election for former Rep. Tony Kielkucki's seat in the Minnesota House of Representatives.

Total votes cast throughout District 18A in Tuesday's primary were 1,196, with Newman receiving 909, and LaDon Rydberg of Dassel receiving 181. Ueland, whose name was also on the ballot representing the DFL side, received 99 total votes.

The special general election will take place Tuesday, Dec. 30 from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.

McLeod County Auditor Cindy Schultz noted that voters interested in obtaining absentee ballots may do so between now and Monday, Dec. 29 at 5 p.m. at the county auditor's office. Voters in Winsted can go to the city hall to obtain their ballot.

Winsted City Hall will be open Saturday, Dec. 27 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m., in addition to staying open until 5 p.m. Monday, Dec. 29.

The primary election was called by the secretary of state's office after Rydberg filed on the Republican ticket. Ueland's name was also on the ballot, because according to state statute, all parties involved need to be listed, and Ueland was the only candidate to file as DFL.

Just 5.9 percent of eligible voters in McLeod County turned out to vote, according to Schultz.

"The weather was a part of it, although a lot of people didn't realize there was a primary," she said. "Scott Newman was sending out mail that had the election date of Dec. 30, so a lot of people probably didn't realize it."

The City of Winsted had 86 ballots cast, with 71 of those for Newman, 13 for Rydberg, and two for Ueland.

Lester Prairie had 36 ballots cast, with 26 of those being for Newman, 6 for Rydberg, and four for Ueland.

Winsted Township residents sent 34 people to the polls, with 25 of those voting for Newman, six for Rydberg, and three for Ueland.

Bergen Township had 34 voters show up, with 26 votes being cast for Newman, seven for Rydberg, and three for Ueland.

For an additional precinct-by-precinct breakdown of the results, visit the secretary of state's web site at www.sos.state.mn.us, and click on the 18A election results link.

Back to Current Stories Menu | Back to Archives List

Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Search | Home Page