Nov. 13, 2006

Delano elects some new, some familiar faces

By Ryan Gueningsman
Managing Editor

Delano City Council will have a new mayor and one new but familiar councilmember at the beginning of next year.

Joe McDonald received the most votes, 747, for the position of mayor in Tuesday’s election. He won a four-year term which begins in January.

Incumbent mayor Jon Steinmetz came in second with 645 votes, Michael Mathisen received 579 votes, and current councilmember Mary Emery 193. There were five write-in votes for mayor.

McDonald was in the middle of serving a term on the city council, which means someone will be appointed to fill the remainder of McDonald’s term.

For city council, the winners were Brad Hotchkiss with 984 and Larry Bartels with 938.

Hotchkiss will keep the seat he has held the past two years since coming on board to fill the remainder of Tom Emmer’s term when Emmer resigned after being elected to the legislature.

Bartels will take over Mary Emery’s seat at the new year. Bartels is no stranger to Delano politics, having served on the city council from 1991 to 2002.

Candidate Harlan Lewis received 479 votes for council, Mike Russek 469, Paul Stansberry 314, Peg Polingo 275, and Marc Plese 241. There were 15 write-in votes cast for the council seats.

As of 7 a.m. the morning of the election, there were 2,669 registered voters in the City of Delano. From those, along with newly registered voters, Delano had 2,169 voters pass through the polls on election day.

School board seats

In the election for four seats on the Delano School Board, two incumbents will return, along with the addition of two new members.

Incumbent Becky Schaust, who received 2,842 votes, recaptured her seat, along with fellow incumbent Tim Douglas, who received 2,242 votes.

Sarah Hellmich received a spot on the school board with 2,157 votes.

Carolyn Milano, who received 1,497 votes, had informally withdrawn from the race prior to the election, but still received the fourth highest number of votes.

Later in the week, she informed the school she will accept the position.

The next highest vote-getter was Carol Krajewski, who received 1,475 votes. Roger Smith received 1,402 votes.

Other seats of interest

State Representative Tom Emmer, who received 12,469 votes, was re-elected over opponent Chris Brazelton, who received 8,077 votes. There were 25 write-in votes for this position.

State Senator Amy Koch, who received 23,524 votes, also beat challenger Todd Ketchel, who received 14,780 votes. There were 38 write-in votes for this position.

For Wright County Soil and Water District 3, Mary Wetter, received 44 percent of the vote, defeated her opponents Bob Adams and Robert Kretsch.

In District 1, Mike Zieska, who was running unopposed, was elected with 34,390 votes.

Wright County Sheriff Gary Miller, who was running unopposed, easily recaptured his seat with 37,322 votes. There were 386 write-in votes for this position.

Wright County Attorney Tom Kelly, also running unopposed, recaptured his seat with 35,946 votes. There were 244 write-in votes for this position.

Auditor/treasurer Robert Hiivala, who ran unopposed, will retain his seat, earning 35,413 votes. There were 255 write-ins.

Back to Current Stories Menu | Back to Archives List
Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Search | Dassel-Cokato Home | Delano Home | HJ Home