Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
DC voter turnout is higher than state average

Nov. 10, 2008

By Lynda Jensen

Voters in Dassel and Cokato turned out in during a historic general election year that resulted in the first black man in history being elected to office, Democrat Barack Obama, who defeated Republican candidate John McCain.

In the City of Cokato, the turnout of registered voters was 91 percent, which was down from 2004, when 95 percent of registered voters cast ballots.

In Dassel, 85 percent of registered voters turned out, up from 2004, when it was 81 percent. This is higher than the statewide average of 77.9 percent.

Those who did cast ballots in DC settled a number of races, except for a paper-thin victory of Senator Norm Colemen by about 400 votes from challenger Al Franken, according to unofficial results from the Minnesota Secretary of State. It is being recounted.

For a precinct breakdown of certain races, click here.

State rep. seats are filled

State Rep. Dean Urdahl was re-elected to his position for District 18B. Results are Urdahl (11,813) and Dave Detert of Litchfield (8,297).

State Rep. Ron Shimanski of Silver Lake kept his seat in District 18A despite a challenge from former Lester Prairie mayor Eric Angvall. Results are: Shimanski (12,312) and Eric Angvall (7,122).

Congressional seats open

US Representative Michele Bachmann edged opponent El Tinklenberg in election results (this district includes Wright County). Results are Bachmann (187,808) and El Tinklenberg (175,784).

For District 7, US Rep. Collin Peterson easily overtook challenger Glen Menze of Starbuck, with results being 227,179 votes for Peterson and 87,058 for Menze. District 7 includes Meeker and McLeod counties.

Judges elected

Although several unopposed judges filled the ballot, there were a handful of true races on local ballots.

There were two such races in District 10, which includes Wright County, and one in District 1, which covers both McLeod and Carver counties. The Supreme Court results are listed at the end.

District 10 (Wright County):

• Nancy Logering was elected (198,827 votes) against challenger Luke Stellpflug (113,540).
• Robert Varco was elected (170,769) over John Dehen (153,107).

District 1 (McLeod and Carver counties):

• Joseph Carter was elected (165,781) over challenger Nathaniel Reitz (104,916).

On the Supreme Court level (statewide, featured on every ballot), there were two races as well as a third race for the Court of Appeals.

Supreme Court

• Paul Anderson was elected (1,177,722) over a challenge from Tim Tingelstad (768,391)
• Lori Skjerven-Gildea was elected (1,031,576) over a challenge from Deb Hedlund (837,816).

Court of Appeals:

• Terri Stoneburner was elected (1,073,729) over Dan Griffith (751,937)

Amendment passed

The Minnesota Clean Water, Land and Legacy amendment to the constitution was approved with 1,522,528 yes votes and 1,073,512 no votes.


News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.