Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Incumbents re-elected in Cokato

Nov. 10, 2008

By Kristen Miller
Staff Writer

After Tuesday’s election, the Cokato City Council will remain the same, with Bruce Johnson as mayor and the two council members Carl Harju and Butch Amundsen returning to their seats.

This will be Johnson’s sixth term and he currently has 10 years under his belt.

Johnson received 705 votes and his challenger, Wayne Murphy received 585 votes. Amundsen received 724 votes, and Harju had 692 votes.

“I’m more than satisfied,” Johnson said. He looks at is as the citizens being pleased with how the council has been doing its job.

According to Cokato City Clerk Peggy Carlson, there were 1,381 total ballots and it was a “very different election,” with voters turning out in the morning more so than in the afternoon compared to past elections.


News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.