Three seats are up for Darwin City Council

August 11, 2008

By Kristen Miller
Staff Writer

Three Darwin City Council seats are up for election this fall including the office of mayor.

The terms of council members Patty Burdick and Diane Porth are up. Burdick has decided not to run while Porth is yet undecided.

Mayor Orlan Cervin is also undecided as to whether or not he will run again.

The filing dates begin Tuesday, Aug. 26 through Tuesday, Sept. 9 with a $2 filing fee paid at the Darwin City Hall.

In other business

The council heard from Darwin resident Rick Howell. His concern was with speeders along Pacific Street, and the number of children in that area.

Darwin resident Scott Carlson was also present, asking the council for permission to move a fire hydrant. The council will check on it to see if it is feasible.

Jill Holte, public works, was asked by the council to check on a speed limit sign since there isn’t already one in place along that street.

Carmen Kolar, city clerk, was also asked to call the Meeker County Sheriff’s Office and request for deputy patrol in that area, as well.

In regards to Highway 12 traffic, Holte was also asked to call to state department of transportation to see if the speed limit of 45 miles per hour could be reduced, or have a crossing light installed.

With complaints about the current building inspector, Kolar was asked to check with Meeker County and request a county inspector.

In regards to drop boxes for utility bills, the council decided to go with a different manufacturer which happened to also be cheaper. The council voted to purchase a drop box for $358 to be installed at the city shop with a date to be determined.

Kolar announced the election judges are Bob and Mary Vieyra, Sharon Hanson, Dorothy Hansen, Elaine Ashburn, Janice Maher, and Betty Cropp.

Do you know more about this subject, or have a comment? E-mail: news@heraldjournal.com