Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Dassel elects new mayor, two city council members

Nov. 10, 2008

By Roz Kohls
Staff Writer

DASSEL, MN – Mike Scanlon was elected Tuesday as the new mayor of Dassel.

Alesia Warner was elected to the city council, and incumbent Bob Lalone was re-elected to the city council.

Scanlon received 420 votes. The current mayor, Ava Flachmeyer, received 296 votes. There were six write-in votes.

Warner received 303 votes, Lalone received 291 votes, Neil Bonde Sr. received 260 votes, incumbent Wayne Medcraft received 183 votes, and Jack Adams received 150 votes. There were eight write-in votes, according to the Minnesota Secretary of State’s office.

Scanlon said Thursday he received a copy of the city’s 2009 budget from City Administrator Myles McGrath, so when he takes office in January, he will know what the city is financially able to do.

His first goal will be to lease the city-owned, but unused, east end of the building containing Dassel Liquors. He also wants to attract more businesses and industry to Dassel, Scanlon said.

Warner said Wednesday she “was really excited” to hear she won a seat on the city council.

Warner wants to pick up the pace for adding streetlights to Dassel, not just decorative lights, but lights to provide more security. Warner would like to add streetlights in the residential areas, as well as in the shopping areas downtown, she said.

Warner also wants a more complete network of sidewalks in the city. Currently, the sidewalks seem to be missing in many areas of Dassel, she said.

Warner said she is looking forward to learning more about Dassel and meeting more people.

Lalone also was pleased to be re-elected. “I’m honored to serve the citizens of Dassel for another four years,” he said Thursday.

City of Kingston

John W. Smith was elected mayor of Kingston with 74 votes Tuesday. There were 11 write-in votes.

Doug Serbus and Jim Herda were both elected to the city council with 64 votes each. There were four write-in votes.

City of Darwin

Orlan Cervin was elected mayor of Darwin with 114 votes. His opponent, Michael Diederich, received 72 votes. There were two write-in votes.

Tim Matheson received 108 votes for a city council seat, and Diane Porth received 89 for a city council seat. Jeremy Cates received 69 votes and Clinton Lindquist received 54 votes. There were three write-in votes.


News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.