Several candidates file for Dassel, Cokato positions

Sept. 15, 2008

By Lynda Jensen

Several have filed for local seats that are up for grabs this fall in Dassel and Cokato.

Cokato – seven have filed in Cokato for city council. Two filed for mayor, incumbent Bruce Johnson and Wayne Murphy, who is currently serving as a city council member. For city council, incumbents Carl Harju and Butch Amundsen re-filed as well as newcomers Chad Wuollet, Matt Stumpf and Mark Curlew. Seats open include the mayorship served by Bruce Johnson, along with the council seats served by Carl Harju and Butch Amundsen.

Dassel – seven have filed for Dassel City Council. Two have filed for mayor, incumbent Ava Flachmeyer and newcomer Mike Scanlon. For council, the following people have filed: incumbents Wayne Medcraft and Bob Lalone, as well as Alesia Warner, Neil Bonde Sr., and Jack Adams.

Seats up in the fall for Dassel are two four-year positions served by Medcraft and Lalone, as well as the mayorship served by Flachmeyer.

Darwin – Six filed in Darwin for city council there. Two filed for mayor, incumbent Orlan Cervin and newcomer Mike Diedrich. For council, four filed for the two open seats, incumbent Diane Porth, as well as Clinton Lindquist, Jeremy Cates, Tim Matheson. City Council Member Patti Burdick did not re-file.

Kingston – three filed in Kingston. For council, two filed for the two open seats there; incumbent Jim Herda re-filed, as well as newcomer Doug Serbus. Dale Steinborn, who is currently serving the council, did not re-file. The mayor position served by John Smith is up, with Smith re-filing for this position.

DC School Board – Five have filed so far for the three DC board seats open; Dr. Tracy McConkey, Irene Bender, Jenny Lee, Mark Linder and Matt Cron. The seats open are those being served by Cary Linder, Brian Danielson, and Denise Ertl (Mari Pokornowski filed, but then withdrew). All are four-year terms.

Do you know more about this subject, or have a comment? E-mail: news@heraldjournal.com