Two local positions are up on Wright Co. Soil & Water board

June 23, 2008

By Lynda Jensen

Two local supervisor positions on the Wright County Soil & Water board will be open for filing in about a week, according to Kerry Saxton.

The districts are both local to the Howard Lake and Cokato areas, with the incumbents being Chris Uecker of Albion Township for District 4, and Duane Dahlman of Cokato for District 5.

There is a third district with an open seat as well, District 2, which covers the Monticello area.

The positions, which are each four-year terms, will be listed on the fall ballot in the November election.

The three districts cover the following towns and cities:

• District 2 – Monticello Township and the cities of Albertville, Hanover, Monticello, Otsego and St. Michael. Only those city portions included in the District 2 townships are in District 2.

• District 4 – Albion Township, Marysville and Middleville townships, and the cities of Howard Lake, Maple Lake, Montrose and Waverly. Only those city portions included in the District 4 Townships are in District 4.

• District 5 – Cokato, French Lake, Southside, Stockholm and Victor townships and Cities of Annandale, Cokato, Howard Lake and South Haven. Only those city portions included in the District 5 townships are in District 5.

What kind of person should apply? Someone who is concerned about water, natural resources, land use and other environmental issues, according to Soil & Water.

A Soil and Water Conservation District supervisor is a person who performs a special purpose for local units of government that manage and direct various conservation programs, such as:

- Cost-Share Programs;
- Wetland Conservation Act;
- RIM;
- Wetland Restoration Program; and
- Rain gauge/well monitoring

Each of Minnesota’s 91 Soil and Water Conservation Districts is governed by an elected five-member board of supervisors.

Though nominated within a specific supervisor district, elections and representation are countywide. Supervisors meet at least monthly and do not receive a salary, but do receive compensation for attending meetings and incurred mileage. Preauthorized expenses are also reimbursed.

Interested in applying? Here’s how

Filing for the office of Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor can be completed at the county auditor’s office (Wright County Government Center) between Tuesday, July 1 and the filing deadline of 5 p.m. Tuesday, July 15, 2008.

A filing fee of $20 must be paid, or 500 signatures collected on the form Minnesota Petition In Lieu Of Filing Fee. A “Statement of Economic Interest” must also be filed.

General information regarding this position can be found on the Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR) web site: www.bwsr.state.iiin.us/aboutbwsr/pubIicationS/SLIpervisorshandbook.pdf. If you would like information specific to Wright County, or any other additional information, please contact the Wright Soil and Water Conservation District, 311 Brighton Avenue, Suite C, Buffalo (763) 682-1970 and talk to either Sandi or Kerry.

Do you know more about this subject, or have a comment? E-mail news@hjpub.com