Delano city, school board both have spots up for election this fall

August 25, 2008

Filing period for city, school offices is Aug. 26 through Sept. 9

By Ryan Gueningsman
Managing Editor

A number of seats are up for election locally this fall, including two seats on the Delano City Council and four seats on the Delano School Board.

The general election will be Tuesday, Nov. 4, and primary election is Tuesday, Sept. 9. Voters need to vote in the jurisdiction in which they reside, commented Delano City Clerk Marlene Kittock.

Delano City Council

Terms on the Delano City Council, presently filled by Holly Schrupp and Marc Plese, expire Dec. 31 of this year.

Schrupp has been on the council since her election in 2004, and she previously served two years on the council after being appointed to fill a vacant position in January 2003. Schrupp serves as liaison to the planning commission.

Plese was appointed to the Delano City Council in 2007 to fill the seat vacated by Mayor Joe McDonald. Plese also serves on the historical society and as a liaison to the Park and Recreation Committee.

Anyone interested in filing for either of the two four-year terms should file at the Delano City Hall and pay the filing fee of $2. The filing period runs from Tuesday, Aug. 26 at 7:30 a.m. through Tuesday, Sept. 9 at 5 p.m.

Those elected at the Tuesday, Nov. 4 election will begin their duties the first business day of 2009 and continue through the last business day of 2012.

Delano School Board

Four positions on the Delano School Board are up for election this fall, including seats currently held by Peter Brasket, Lorrie Mulholland, Sarah Gallagher, and Kevin Max.

Brasket, Mulholland, and Gallagher were elected to the board in 2005, and Max was appointed to the school board in 2007.

Anyone interested in filing for either of the four four-year terms should file at the Delano School District office and pay the filing fee of $2. The filing period runs from Tuesday, Aug. 26 through Tuesday, Sept. 9 at 5 p.m.

Any candidate for this office must be an eligible voter, must be 21 years of age or more on assuming office, must have been a resident of the school district for 30 days before the general election, and must have no other affidavit on file for any other office at the same primary or next ensuing general election.

For more information, contact the district office at (763) 972-3365.

Wright County Commissioner 3rd District

Voters will narrow the field of candidates from three to two at the primary election Tuesday, Sept. 9. Names on the ballot will include Jack Russek, Jon Steinmetz, and Matt Walker.

Voters will be able to select one of three candidates who filed for the position, and the two with the highest vote count will move on to the general election this fall.

Franklin Township

While no specific seats are up for election on the Franklin Township Board during this fall’s election, voters who reside in Franklin Township will still vote at the township hall on election day and for the primary.

Any Franklin Township resident wishing to vote absentee needs to do so through Wright County by calling (763) 682-7578 or by going to the courthouse.

Franklin Township conducts its annual election/meeting in March of each year.

State Representative 19B

Two have filed for the District 19B state representative position, including incumbent Tom Emmer (R) and Christine Brazelton (DFL).

District 19B encompasses the Delano area.

General election information

From the City of Delano

The 2008 state primary and general election is quickly approaching.

The state primary will be Tuesday, Sept. 9, and the state general election Tuesday, Nov. 4, with polling hours from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Residents of the City of Delano will be able to vote absentee at the Delano City Hall. Absentee voting for the primary began Friday, Aug. 8 and continues to Monday, Sept. 8. For the general election, absentee voting begins Friday, Oct. 3 and ends Monday, Nov. 3.

Normal business hours at the Delano City Hall are Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m., Tuesday, from 7:30 am to 7 p.m., and Friday from 8 a.m. to noon.

Absentee voting hours will also take place Saturday, Sept. 6 and Saturday, Nov. 1 from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Other important dates to keep in mind for new residents are pre-registration deadlines.

In order for your name to be listed on the Secretary of State’s registered voter’s roster list on Election Day, one must have pre-registered by Tuesday, Aug. 19 for the primary and Tuesday, Oct. 14 for the general election.

One may still register on Election Day with proof of residency. However doing so on Election Day will require more time at the polls, as additional documents and a verification process will need to be completed.

Proof of residency requirements is available on the city’s web site at www.delano.mn.us.

For more information

Election forms and more information is available at many locations and on various web sites, including the Wright County Auditor at www.co.wright.mn.us or by phone at (763) 682-7578, the Secretary of State’s office at www.sos.state.mn.us or by phone at (651) 296-2803, and at your political party’s headquarters.

You can also contact the Delano City Hall at (763) 972-0550.

Do you know more about this subject, or have a comment? E-mail: news@heraldjournal.com