Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Lester Prairie ambassador program on hold until 2010

June 29, 2009

By Ivan Raconteur
Staff Writer

LESTER PRAIRIE, MN – The Lester Prairie Ambassador Program is on hold for another year, according to program coordinator Lisa Leaf.

“I don’t have a single candidate,” Leaf said.

Normally, a coronation for new ambassadors takes place during the Prairie Days celebration, which is scheduled for Friday and Saturday, July 17 and 18 this year.

Since there are no candidates, there will be no ambassador activities this year.

Leaf said she is “disappointed, but optimistic.”

“I am still looking forward to a strong program,” Leaf said. “I am still hoping to have a bigger, better program next year.”

She said she has been in contact with ambassador programs in other cities, and has heard that other programs have had difficulty recruiting candidates lately, as well.

Silver Lake did not get any candidates this year either, Leaf said.

Leaf said she hopes to raise funds to support the program, and is still accepting donations.

“The (parade) float needs a lot of work,” Leaf said. “RAM Buildings has graciously stored it for the past year.”

Leaf took over the ambassador program last summer.

Former coordinators Peg Rathkamp and Sandy (Martin) Schafer announced their retirement from the program in April 2008.

They said they enjoyed the time they spent working with the candidates and their parents, and appreciated the support they received from local businesses, organizations, and the community, but it was time for them to move on.

Anyone who wishes to help, or who has questions or comments about the program can contact Leaf at lpambassadors@hotmail.com.

Review of past Lester Prairie ambassadors
The program has changed over the years. The list of previous ambassadors includes:
• 2001-02 Miss Lester Prairie Martina Heinsch, Lester Prairie Princess Crystal Foust.
• 2002-03 Miss Lester Prairie JaNaye Jilek, Lester Prairie Princess Mindy Odenbrett.
• 2003-04 Miss Lester Prairie Beth Weisenburger, Lester Prairie Princess Krystal Alberts.
• 2004-05 Miss Lester Prairie Lori Hoof, Lester Prairie Princesses Britney Latzig and Becky Fiecke.
• 2005-06 Lester Prairie Ambassadors Catherine Pierson, Emily Angvall, and Nicole Horsman.
• 2006-07 Lester Prairie Ambassadors Alexandra Heuer, Maggie Pichotta, and Hannah Wortz.
• 2007-08 Lester Prairie Ambassadors Helena Fairfield and Rebecca Templin, and Miss Congeniality Corinne Goplin.


News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.