Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Wright County Fair is bigger, better – and later in the year

March 9, 2009

By Caroline Wigmore
Staff Writer

Bigger and better are two words to describe the Wright County Fair this year, though the dates of the fair are moving from the end of July to mid-August this year in order to accommodate the new carnival, Gold Star Amusements.

The carnival will be bringing bigger rides, more games and wider appeal during the fair, which is scheduled for Wednesday through Sunday, Aug. 12-16 at the Wright County Fairgrounds in Howard Lake.

Gold Star Amusements was already booked during most of the summer, so the fair had to be pushed back to the August dates, instead of usual July dates.

“We’re going to have a much bigger and better fair,” said Dennis Beise, Wright County Fair secretary.

One of the many new features at the fair this year will be the sportsmen’s complex.

“It’s going to be in a 200-foot tent,” Beise said, explaining that there will be an archery range, an air rifle range, dog field trials, and wildlife calling. The Sportsman Federation, Vogel’s Native Live Animal Display, and a live reptile and amphibian discovery zoo will also be in the complex.

Committee members are confident that upgrading to a better carnival is the way to go, but some have had concerns due to the fact that the first day of the fair overlaps with the Cokato Corn Carnival.

This overlap is thought to be a one-time occurrence though, and the committee is hoping the fair can book the carnival closer to its usual July dates for 2010.

Wright County Fair Officers 2009

The Wright County Fair Board is made up of 20 area men and women who work hard to make sure the fair is fun and safe.

The board of directors are Greg Bakeberg, Bernice Schermer, Nancy Betzler, Troy Beise, Ray Schmidt, Dan Mueller, Kent Mutterer, Janelle Mutterer, Charlie Nelson, Gloria Triebwasser, Stan Vanderkooi, Jeff Wheeler, John Quirk, Ron Dehn, and Milan Zumach.

There are five officers on the board: Jerry Quaal, president; Ward Westphal, vice president; Dennis Beise, secretary; George Mead, treasurer; and Gary Fieldseth, director-at-large.


News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.