Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Eleven apply for seat on Delano School Board
August 24, 2009

Appointment expected Wednesday

By Ryan Gueningsman
Managing Editor

DELANO, MN – Eleven people have applied for a vacated seat on the Delano School Board.

The seat was vacated by Sarah Gallagher, who resigned from the school board July 27.

Persons applying include Amy Ewing, Lisa B. Seguin, Rodger L. Schaefbauer, Joy Bodin, Nina Nieman, Dr. Patricia Osmon, Kristin Marit Nelson, Daniel Menk, Kimberly (Kym) Kirk, Rick Schaffer, and Lee Bunker, according to Superintendent Dr. John Sweet.

The school board is conducting two interview sessions to interview the candidates, with the first taking place Aug. 19. The other six candidates will be interviewed Wednesday, Aug. 26 beginning at 4:15 p.m. in the high school conference room.

Following the interviews Aug. 26, it is expected that the board will take action approving one of the candidates for the position, Sweet said.

The person appointed will serve until Dec. 31, 2010. A two-year position will then be on the ballot at the school board election in November 2010.

Gallagher’s first term on the school board ran from January 2005 through December 2008, and she was re-elected to a second term in fall 2008 that began in January of this year. That term would have expired in 2012. Gallagher was appointed as the vice chairperson of the school board in 2008 and 2009.


News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.