Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Townships announce election, levy results
March 15, 2010

By Starrla Cray
Staff Writer

MEEKER, WRIGHT COUNTIES, MN – Area townships all had annual meetings Tuesday, and many townships also had spring elections.

Collinwood Township
In Collinwood Township, there were 24 voters for the election. John Nowak was elected supervisor with 23 votes, and Larry Ostlund was re-elected clerk with 24 votes.

At the annual meeting, the voters approved the levy for 2011 for $159,800, which is the same as the 2010 levy.

Dassel Township
Erhard Woetzel was re-elected as a Dassel Township supervisor, with 12 votes.

Karin Colberg was re-elected clerk with 11 votes. There was one write-in vote for Ronald Peterson.

Only having 12 voters is “very typical,” Colberg said.

“I feel bad that more people don’t show up,” she said. Next year, Colberg said she hopes to increase voter turnout.

The levy for 2011 was set at $330,000, which is the same as 2010.

Dassel Township could have a few road improvements this summer, Colberg said.

At the March 3 meeting, the board discussed the possibility of doing an overlay on 240th Street, and tarring 743rd Avenue.

The board is researching the cost of these projects.

“Everything is still tentative,” Colberg said.

Darwin Township
At Darwin Township’s annual meeting, the board set the budget at $318,000 for 2011.

The 2010 budget was $313,900.

“It was raised due to inflation and some projects that may need to be done for roads,” Clerk Hildur Carlson said.

Ellsworth Township
Thirty voters participated in the Ellsworth Township election, which was a low turnout, according to Clerk Gordy Seiffert.

Dave Tipka was re-elected supervisor with 27 votes, and Seiffert was re-elected clerk with 30 votes.

At the annual meeting, the levy for 2011 taxes was voted on, totaling $232,500. The general and hard surface funds remained unchanged from 2010, but the fire and rescue, as well as the road and bridge funds, increased.

Sheriff Jeff Norlin came to Ellsworth Township’s annual meeting Tuesday to explain that Ellsworth Township residents can now receive e-mail notices of township alerts.

To get on that e-mail list, call the Meeker County Sheriff’s Department at (320) 693-5410.

Stockholm Township
There were a total of 65 voters at the Stockholm Township election.

Paul Davis was re-elected supervisor with 38 votes. Melvin Terning received 26 votes, and Eric Chap received one vote.

Diane Johnson was re-elected clerk with 58 votes. Mark Wendolek received one vote.

“It was a good turnout, but not as high as last year,” Johnson noted.

The 2011 levy was raised to $255,000, a $20,000 increase from the proposed recommendation from the board. The additional $20,000 will be added to the capital improvement fund for maintenance equipment.

Within the next three months, Stockholm Township will have a special meeting for residents to vote on the building of a new town hall. The date hasn’t been set, but building options and quotes will be made available prior to the meeting.

French Lake Township
Seventeen people voted at the French Lake Township election.

Paul Erickson was re-elected supervisor, and Rosanne Peterson was re-elected clerk, each receiving 17 votes.

The budget for 2011 was set at $230,000, which is the same as 2010.

The general fund budget was $50,600, road and bridge was $115,000, fire protection was $43,700, and new equipment was $20,700.

At the March 2 meeting, the township reviewed the expenses for each fund.

Cokato Township
In Cokato Township, Kurt Dahlin was elected supervisor with 28 write-in votes.

Wesley Hoffman had 17 votes.

Brad Morris was re-elected clerk with 41 votes.

“There were 51 voters, which is a few higher than average for the township election,” Morris noted.

The 2011 levy was kept the same as last year, at $225,000.

At the regular March meeting, Cokato Township officials reviewed which roads will have gravel added this year, Morris noted.

The board also discussed dust coating, and decided to charge 81 cents per foot for the full rate, and 52 cents per foot for the half rate.

Kingston Township
The 2011 levy for Kingston Township was set at $167, 500 for the road and bridge fund, $42,130 for the general fund, $34,251 for fire protection, and $50,000 for tarring projects.

The levy amount increased slightly from 2010, Clerk Gail Schiefelbein said.

Kingston Township will be working with Meeker County to identify road signs that need to be replaced within the township, Schiefelbein said.

At the March 2 meeting, the board approved dust coating for 2010, with property owners paying for half the cost. The township is currently seeking bids to determine the cost of this service.

Kingston Township’s cleanup day is set for Saturday, April 24 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. at the Kingston Community Center.


News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.