Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Filing period for local offices opens Tuesday, Aug. 3
Aug. 2, 2010

By Ivan Raconteur

WRIGHT, CARVER, McLEOD COUNTIES, MN – The filing period for city councils and school boards will begin Tuesday, Aug. 3, and run through 5 p.m. Tuesday, Aug. 17.

Candidates may file at the respective city or school district office. There is a small fee.

Mayor seats are two-year terms. School board seats and city council seats are all four-year terms this year.

Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted School District

Three seats are up on the HLWW board this year, those of board members Jamie Wiech, Al Doering, and chair Dan Schaible.

The three positions are for four-year terms, which is normal for school boards, but HLWW has been adjusting its terms over the last few elections.

The problem was addressed in 2003, when the board opted to petition the Tenth Judicial Court to correct its imbalance – that is, that five seats were up the fall of 2003 for the seven-member board.

The imbalance came about in the elections of 1999, when one of the terms was posted as four years instead of two.

Since then, the terms were staggered to even out the number of seats.

Lester Prairie School District

For Lester Prairie, three seats are up this year, including board members Bob Carlson, who was appointed to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Jim Jorgensen earlier this year; Chester Hoernemann, and chairman Fred Blaser.

City openings:

The following seats (identified by the person currently serving) are open in area cities:

Howard Lake

• Mayor Rick Lammers

• Council Member Mike Mitchell

• Council Member Pete Zimmerman.


• Mayor Ken Antil

• Council Member Keith Harris

• Council Member John Konrath

Konrath was appointed to fulfill the rest of Pam Henry-Neaton’s seat, when she resigned in April 2009 to move out of town.

Harris was appointed in February 2009 to fill out the rest of Antil’s term, since Antil was elected mayor as a sitting council member and had to be replaced on the council in order to assume the mayor post.


• Mayor Steve Stotko

• Council Member Tom Wiemiller

• Council Member Dave Mochinski.

Lester Prairie

• Mayor Andy Heimerl

• Council Member Ron Foust

• Council Member Larry Hoof.


• Mayor Chris Capaul

• Council Member Myron Taylor

• Council Member Dawn Oman. Oman was appointed July 26 to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Mike Dodge, effective July 1.

New Germany

• Mayor Pete Pederson

• Council Member Jim Paul

• Council Member Steve VanLith.

News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.