Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Fall ballot features plenty of names as filing closes
June 7, 2010

By Lynda Jensen

WRIGHT, CARVER, McLEOD COUNTIES, MN – The fall ballot is overflowing with candidates for several positions, with filing officially closing June 1.

Primaries will be Tuesday, Aug. 10.

Sheriff races

Wright County Sheriff Gary Miller plans to retire, which will take effect when he leaves office at the end of the year.

Chief Deputy Joe Hagerty has filed for Wright County sheriff, and is the only candidate on the fall ballot.

In Carver, longtime Carver Co. Sheriff Bud Olson will retire after finishing his third term there.

Two have filed so far for sheriff in Carver: Derek Lee of Waconia, and Jim Olson of Waconia. Olson is a lietenant in the sheriff’s office and has served in Carver since 1987.

McLeod County Sheriff Scott Rehmann has filed for a second term. A second candidate who filed for sheriff is former Glencoe chief Wes Olson.

State races

There are plenty of other candidates in other races.

District 34A

Two candidates will vie for the District 34A seat in Carver County, Ernie Leidiger of Mayer, and DFL candidate Leanne Pouliot Kunze of rural Waconia.

District 34A represents Hollywood Township and the cities of Watertown, Mayer, and New Germany.

District 19B

Another high profile race will be in District 19B, where Republicans recently endorsed Delano Mayor Joe McDonald. District 19B is the seat to be vacated by Tom Emmer, who is making a bid for governor.

Democrats have endorsed Chris Brazelton of Delano, who has filed for the District 19B seat.

District 19B consists of communities in eastern Wright County and a small portion of western Hennepin County. This include the cities of Albertville, Delano, Hanover, Montrose, Otsego, Rockford, St. Michael, Waverly; and townships Franklin, Rockford, Victor, and Woodland.

District 18

For the District 18 senate seat being vacated by Steve Dille, three candidates have filed – Scott Newman (R), Hal Kimball (DFL) and Independence candidate Richard Hoff of Cosmos.

Newman is an attorney from Hutchinson.

Hal Kimball of Cokato served 11 years in the Army.

District 18 includes all of Meeker and McLeod counties, plus the following area in Wright County: the cities of Howard Lake, Cokato, and Annandale; and townships of French Lake, Middleville, South Haven, Southside, and Stockholm.

For state representatives, all of the local seats are on the fall ballot.

State Rep. District 18A

The seat for District 18A, served by Ron Shimanski, is on the fall ballot.

Shimanski, a farmer from Silver Lake, has refiled.

No DFL candidate has been endorsed, or filed, for the District 18A seat.

District 18A includes all of McLeod County, plus Collinwood Township, Cedar Mills, and Cedar Mills Township in Meeker County.

State Rep. District 18B

The position for state representative in District 18B, served by Dean Urdahl, will be on the fall ballot.

Two have filed: Urdahl, a history teacher and coach for the New London-Spicer School District, and DFL candidate Darrin Anderson of Litchfield.

Anderson teaches social studies in the Willmar School District and was endorsed by the Democrats in February.

District 18B includes the cities of Annandale, Cokato, Howard Lake, and South Haven, and the townships of Cokato, Corinna, French Lake, Middleville, Stockholm, and Southside in Wright County, and extends west into Meeker County (covering all of Meeker).

State Rep. District 19A

The position served by Republican Bruce Anderson in District 19A is also up in the fall.

Anderson has refiled for this office.

DFL candidate and police officer Barrett Chrissis of Buffalo has also filed for office.

District 19A includes: the townships Albion, Buffalo, Chatham, Clearwater, Maple Lake, Marysville, Monticello, and Silver Creek; and the towns Buffalo, Clearwater, Maple Lake, Monticello, and Silver Creek.

State senate seats

In District 34, incumbent Julianne Ortman of Chanhassen has refiled, along with two other candidates, Tim Biros of Norwood Young America for the Independence Party, and DFLer Laura Helmer of Chanhassen.

District 34 consists of the lion’s share of Carver County, including both Hollywood and Camden townships, as well as the cities of New Germany, Water town, and Mayer.

The state senate position for District 19, served by State Sen. Amy Koch, is also up for election this fall.

Koch has refiled, along with DFLer Jim Bischoff of Buffalo.

District 19 includes all of Wright County except for the following: the cities of Howard Lake, Cokato, and Annandale; and townships of French Lake, Middleville, South Haven, Southside, and Stockholm.

Congressional seats

For Congress, three local seats are up this year: District 2, served by Republican John Kline of Burnsville; District 6, served by Michele Bachmann of Woodbury; and District 7, which is served by “blue dog” Democrat Collin Peterson of Detroit Lakes.

All three incumbents have refiled.

For District 2, two DFL candidates have stepped forward to run in the fall. They include Dan Powers of Burnsville, who is a retired colonel in the Marines, and Shelley Madore of Apple Valley.

Minnesota’s 2nd Congressional District spans the width of the entire southern metro area and contains all of Carver, Scott, Le Sueur, Goodhue and Rice counties. 

In District 6, there are several candidates who have filed.

Two Independence candidates will also vie for the position, that of Bob Anderson of Woodbury and Aubrey Immelman of Sartell.

This includes two DFL candidates, Tarryl Clark of St. Cloud, and physician Dr. Maureen Kennedy Reed of Anoka.

US District 6 includes a huge chunk of area that is northwest of the Twin Cities. At its southern end, it includes Wright County.

There is also a race with several candidates in District 7, with incumbent Collin Peterson refiling.

Other candidates include Republicans Lee Byberg of Willmar and Alan Roebke of Alexandria, as well as Independence candidates Glen Menze of Starbuck and Gene Waldorf of Grey Eagle.

District 7 is the largest and most rural of all the Congressional districts in Minnesota, and encompasses the northwestern portion of the state. At its eastern end, it includes all of McLeod and Meeker counties.

It should be noted that the filing period for city and school board elections isn’t until August.

News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.