Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Filings close for local seats
AUG. 23, 2010

Five file for two Dassel City Council seats

By Kristen Miller

DASSEL, COKATO, KINGSTON, DARWIN, MN – Filings for local seats have closed, leaving a number of candidates without contenders in November’s general election.

Five who filed for the two empty Dassel City Council seats are Jack Adams, Wayne Medcraft, Kim Clancy, Jason Benzing, and Larry Oberg. Mike Scanlon is the only one who filed for mayor.

In Cokato, Gordy Erickson was the only person to file for mayor. Ken Bakke and Jesse Bunker filed for the two open council seats.

For the City of Darwin, Mark Smith and Lee Peterson have filed for council seats, and Josh Johnson and Mike Diederick have filed for mayor.

In the City of Kingston, John Smith has filed for mayor, while Junice Anderson and James Nielsen have filed for council. Sandra Smith has filed for treasurer, which is a non-voting member.

For Dassel-Cokato School Board, Richard Tormanen, Kevin Bjork, and Rebecca Clemen have filed.

Kevin Dahlman did file before the closing date, but then withdrew his name.

According to the MN Secretary of State’s website, a person may remove his or her name with an affidavit of withdrawal within two days of the closing of the filing period.

Filings in Kingston Township closed with only one person filing for one of the two supervisor positions. Filing for supervisor C is Mike Cates. Mary Filzen has also filed for treasurer.

News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.

Advertise in over
250+ MN newspapers