Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
A glimpse at the fall ballot
May 10, 2010

The filing period officially opens soon

The filing period is from 8 a.m., Tuesday, May 18, to 5 p.m., Tuesday, June 1. (Note that filing offices will be closed Monday, May 31, in observance of Memorial Day.)

By Lynda Jensen

WRIGHT, CARVER, and McLEOD COUNTIES, MN – When it comes to the fall ballot, several candidates have already stepped forward to announce their intentions to run for the ballot Tuesday, Nov. 2.

Across the board, retirements appear to a common theme this year, with sheriffs in Wright and Carver retiring for this election cycle.

In addition, State Sen. Steve Dille in District 18 and Paul Kohls in Victoria announced their retirements, leaving these two positions, traditionally held by Republicans, up for grabs (see separate article, scroll down to District 18).

Wright County Sheriff Gary Miller announced his retirement in March, which will end 36 years in law enforcement, of which 12 was spent as sheriff there.

Chief Deputy Joe Hagerty has launched his campaign to succeed Gary Miller as Wright County sheriff.

Hagerty, a resident of St. Michael, has served with the Wright County Sheriff’s Office since 1985 and was named chief deputy in 2006.

He has worked in the county jail and communication center and as a patrol officer and canine officer. He is also a three-term member of the St. Michael City Council.

Longtime Carver Co. Sheriff Bud Olson will retire after finishing his third term there. He was first elected in 1998.

McLeod County Scott Rehmann has announced his intent to run again for a second term.

All of this adds up to a busy election season already underway in many respects, although the official filing process has yet to open.

The filing period is from 8 a.m., Tuesday, May 18, to 5 p.m., Tuesday, June 1.

Wright County

In Wright County, the following county positions are up:

• County attorney, served by Tom Kelly. Kelly has announced he will run again.

• County auditor/treasurer, served by Bob Hiivala.

There are three positions up for county commissioner:

• District 5 (Howard Lake-Cokato and several townships), served by Dick Mattson of Waverly, who will run again.

Mattson is being challenged by Leonard Wozniak of Cokato. Wozniak has served for nine years as a supervisor for Stockholm Township, and 18 years as a Stockholm Township planning and zoning advisor. He also dairy farmed until 2003.

• District 2 (the Monticello area), served by Pat Sawatzke, and

• District 4 (the Buffalo-St. Michael area), served by Elmer Eichelberg.

Wright County residents wishing to file for state office may file at either the Minnesota Secretary of State’s office or the Wright County auditor/treasurer’s office, Gloria Gooler said.

Gooler said is was very important to understand that if someone lives in a certain county, they should file in that county, even if the district that person is running for overlaps somewhere else.

McLeod County

In McLeod County, the following county positions are also up:

• County attorney, served by Mike Junge. He has indicated that he will be refiling for this position.

• County auditor/treasurer, served by Cindy Schultz. She intends to refile, she reported.

• County recorder, served by Lynn Ette Schrupp.

There are two positions up for county commissioner, county commissioner:

• District 2 (Glencoe area) served by Kermit Terlinden, and

• District 4 (Biscay, Brownton and one precinct in Hutchinson), served by Sheldon Nies.

Carver County

In Carver, the following county positions are up:

• County attorney, served by Jim Keeler, who was appointed to the position in 2007 by the Carver County Board when the previous county attorney, Mike Fahey, was appointed to the bench.

Jim Olson, who is a lieutenant at the sheriff’s office, announced his intent to file for sheriff. He has been on the force for 22 years and oversees public safety in the City of Chanhassen.

There are three positions up for county commissioner:

• District 1 (Chaska and Chanhassen area), served by Gayle Degler.

• District 3 (Carver, Chaska and Victoria), served by Randy Maluchnik.

• District 5 (Mayer, New Germany and Norwood Young America), served by Jim Ische.

Spots open for Soil & Water Conservation

Filing will begin for soil and water supervisor positions, as well.

In Wright County, two supervisor positions are open, one in District III, which covers the Buffalo, Delano, Hanover, Montrose, Rockford, and Waverly area and another for District I, which covers the Annandale area.

In Carver County, the two seats up are in Districts 4 (the Victoria and Dahlgren Township area) and 5 (the Waconia area).

For McLeod, two districts are up, including District 1 (includes the townships of Winsted and Bergen ,and cities of Lester Prairie and Winsted), and District 2 (includes the townships of Helen and Glencoe, and the cities of Plato and Glencoe).

News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.