Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
The fall ballot will include some new names in local elections
Aug. 23, 2010

By Ivan Raconteur

WRIGHT, CARVER, AND McLEOD COUNTIES, MN – Several new candidates stepped forward to file for local city, school board, and township seats before Tuesday’s deadline.

Three seats are open on the Howard Lake-Waverly-Winsted School Board. Incumbents Jamie Wiech and Dan Schaible re-filed, and Fred Yerke and Joanne Kocher also filed.

There are also three seats open on the Lester Prairie School Board. Robert Carlson, who is currently serving the remainder of a term created by the resignation of Jim Jorgenson this summer, filed, and so have incumbents Fred Blaser and Chester Hoernemann. Matthew Klitzke and Gregg Machemehl also filed for seats on the board.

In Waverly, Keith Harris has re-filed for city council, and Mayor Ken Antil filed for city council. Lee Hall and Ben Duske also filed for council seats. Council Member Connie Holmes filed for the mayor seat.

In Mayer, Chris Capaul has re-filed for the mayor position.

Long-time council member Myron Taylor did not seek re-election, nor did Dawn Oman, who was appointed to fill the seat vacated by Mike Dodge, who resigned earlier this year. That term expires at the end of December.

Three new candidates filed for Mayer City Council. They include Dan Lueth, Erick Boder, and Paul Malmberg.

In Howard Lake, all three incumbents have re-filed; Rick Lammers for mayor, and Pete Zimmerman and Mike Mitchell for council. Allan Munson also filed for city council. Michael Lee filed for the mayor seat, but withdrew his candidacy Aug. 13.

In Winsted, Steve Stotko re-filed for mayor, and George Schulenberg filed for city council. Incumbents Tom Wiemiller and Dave Mochinski re-filed for council.

In Lester Prairie, Mayor Andy Heimerl re-filed.

Four candidates filed for the two available council seats. Incumbent Ron Foust re-filed, and Sandie Adams-Bruin, Tamara Vergin, and Eric Angvall also filed for council seats. Long-time council member Larry Hoof did not seek re-election.

In New Germany, Jason Kamerud filed for the mayor seat. Current mayor Pete Pederson did not seek re-election. Incumbents Jim Paul and Steve VanLith filed for council seats.

Some local townships are also conducting elections this fall.

In Winsted Township, Susan Goebel re-filed for the clerk position, and Tony Gueningsman filed for the one open supervisor position.

In Camden Township, there are two supervisor positions open. These are designated separately on the ballot, and candidates must file for a specific seat.

There are three candidates for Seat A. They are Bruce Clark (incumbent), Marcus Lhotka, and Gerald Goede.

Incumbent David Zellmann is the only candidate for Seat B.

Denise Zellmann is the only candidate for treasurer.

There will also be a question on this year’s ballot, according to Township Clerk Roger Sauerbrey.

The question will be “shall the town of Camden change to six-year terms for supervisor?”

Sauerbrey explained that currently, the supervisor terms are four years, and two of the three supervisors are elected every four years. If residents vote to change the terms to six years, one supervisor would be elected every two years.

In Hollywood Township, three candidates filed for Supervisor C, including Curtis Thaemert (incumbent), Lynn Herrmann, and Jim Burns.

Two candidates filed for Supervisor B, including Ron Kassulker (incumbent) and Elwin Bauer.

Chuck Schuft re-filed for the treasurer position.

In Bergen Township, Francis Burch filed for the one open supervisor position, and Melissa Tonn re-filed for the treasurer position.

News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.

Advertise in over
250+ MN newspapers