Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Tuesday is the day to head to the polls
Nov. 1, 2010

By Ryan Gueningsman
Managing Editor

Voters will head to the polls Tuesday to elect people to a number of different offices.


In Delano, three people will be on the ballot for the mayor position: Larry Bartels, Dale Graunke, and Harlan Lewis. Incumbent Joe McDonald did not file and is running a campaign for state representative.

For the two city council positions, Dan Gustafson, Jon Sutherland, Derek Schansberg, Jacqui Blasiak, Dan Vick, Marc Plese, and Jason Thompson have all filed. Blasiak and Thompson have since indicated they do not wish to receive votes and are not actively campaigning, however their names will remain on the ballot.

Incumbent Brad Hotchkiss did not file. The other council incumbent, Bartels, has filed for mayor.

Delano Public Schools

Timothy Douglas, Patricia Osmon, and Lisa Seguin have filed for the three, four-year seats available on the Delano School Board. Carolyn Milano and Erika Kluge Frake filed for the two, two-year positions available on the board.

Incumbent Joy Bodin did not file.


In Montrose, Charlie Nelson, Jon Varner, Sharon Knodel (incumbent), Ryan Andreae (incumbent), Roy Henry, and Scott F. “Ski” Czanstkowski have filed for the two, four-year seats available on the Montrose City Council.

Lloyd Johnson also filed for council, but withdrew his candidacy.

Voters in Montrose will also be voting for Wright County Commissioner, Dist. 5, which features incumbent Dick Mattson and Leonard Wozniak.


In Loretto, a number of people have stepped forward to vie for positions on the city council. Kent Koch has filed to be Loretto’s next mayor. Incumbent Barry Andersen did not file. Several weeks ago, Tom Van Beusekom also announced he is running as a write-in candidate for Loretto mayor.

For city council, Brenda Daniels (incumbent), Tom Pedersen, John “Archie” Nelson, and Keith Converse filed for the two, four-year terms.

Incumbent Jeff France did not file.

Also for voters in Loretto, the positions of state senate and state representative will be on the ballot.

For State Senate District 33, Gen Olson and Monica Dawson will be facing off. For state representative 33A, Steve Smith and Denise Bader will be facing off.

Positions of Hennepin County sheriff, and attorney, Three Rivers Park Commission, and soil and water conservation district supervisors will also be on the ballot.

Wright County


• Joe Hagerty

Hagerty is running unopposed to fill the vacancy created by the retirement of Sheriff Gary Miller at the end of this year.


• Tom Kelly (incumbent)


• Robert Hiivala (incumbent)

State Rep. Dist. 19B

One will be elected for a two-year term.

• Joe McDonald

• Chris Brazelton

District 19B consists of communities in eastern Wright County and a small portion of western Hennepin County. These include the cities of Albertville, Delano, Hanover, Montrose, Otsego, Rockford, St. Michael, Waverly; and townships Franklin, Rockford, Victor, and Woodland.

Incumbent Tom Emmer is the Republican-endorsed candidate for Minnesota governor.

State Senate Dist. 19

One will be elected for a four-year term.

• Amy Koch (incumbent)

• Jim Bischoff

District 19 is made up of all of Wright County except for the following: the cities of Howard Lake, Cokato, and Annandale; and townships of French Lake, Middleville, South Haven, Southside, and Stockholm.

Other notes

Polling places will be open Tuesday, Nov. 2 from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m., and include the following:

• Franklin Township: Franklin Township Hall, 8735 County Road 16 SE

• Delano: Delano City Hall, 234 Second Street North

• Loretto: Fire Department, 259 Medina Street North

• Marysville Township: Marysville Township Hall, 3733 Dempsey Ave SW

• Montrose: Montrose Community Center, 200 Center Avenue South

• Woodland Township: Woodland Township Hall, 9065 Clementa Avenue SW

For further questions about your polling place, visit http://pollfinder.sos.state.mn.us/

Ballots will also feature judicial positions, soil and water conservation district positions, and statewide office positions.

Delano Herald Journal will be posting unofficial election results online Tuesday night as soon as they become available.

News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.

Advertise in over
250+ MN newspapers