Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
New mayor, city council take their seats in Delano
Jan. 10, 2011

By Ryan Gueningsman
Managing Editor

DELANO, MN – With several of the newly-elected council members’ and mayor’s families present, the oath of office was administered to Delano’s new mayor and two new council members Tuesday night.

Dale Graunke became the city’s 56th mayor, while Dan Vick and Derek Schansberg became council members.

The council also elected Council Member Holly Schrupp, who was not present at the meeting, as mayor pro tem. Betsy Stolfa was selected to be next in line following Schrupp.

The council also elected its economic development authority board of Graunke as president, Schrupp as vice president, Vick as treasurer, Finance Director Brian Bloch as assistant treasurer, and City Administrator Phil Kern as secretary.

Interviews to take place for city boards

The city has a number of boards and commissions that act in an advisory role to the city council. A number of positions on these commissions are up this year and must be appointed by the city council.

Notice was published in the newspaper and applications have been received by a number of people for the various boards. Each term is a three-year term, and positions are available for historic preservation (3), parks and recreation (2), planning (2), public safety (2), and water, light and power (2).

Rather than make the appointments at the meeting, Graunke said some of the resumés received by the city are “phenomenal,” and that he would like the opportunity to meet with the applicants.

The council decided to conduct interviews with all candidates who applied for the various positions Monday, Jan. 10 at 6 p.m. at the Delano City Hall.

The council could continue the meeting to Wednesday, Jan. 12 if need be to continue interviews or to reconvene to make a final decision regarding the appointments.

A number of applicants indicated preference for a certain board, but also listed additional boards they would be willing to serve on.

Applicants and their number-one choice include:

Larry Bartels (water, light, and power); Kenneth Beamish (water, light, and power); Norman Edward “Ed” Briesemeister (historic preservation); Shawn Danielson (water, light, and power); Mary Ditty (park and recreation); Sara Hippert (planning); Peter Johnson (historic preservation); David Kenison (planning); Chat Kestner (historic preservation); Jon Krieg (planning); Harlan Lewis (water, light, and power); Ryan Punt (water, light, and power); Joe Schleper (park and recreation); and Jon Sutherland (water, light, and power).

The council also decided to discuss city council liaison positions to the various commissions at the special meeting.

News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.

Advertise in over
250+ MN newspapers