Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
DC School Board reorganizes
Jan. 10, 2011

By Jennifer Kotila
Staff Writer

DASSEL-COKATO, MN – The Dassel-Cokato School Board’s reorganizational meeting took place last Monday evening.

Because the reorganizational meeting needed to take place before the Minnesota School Board Association leadership conference Jan. 11-14, board member Tracy McConkey, who was on a family vacation in Mexico, joined the meeting via Skype.

Newly elected school board member Rebecca Clemen, and re-elected school board members Richard Tormanen and Kevin Bjork, took the oath of office.

Bjork was unanimously appointed to school board chair, which had been held by former member Kevin Dahlman.

Tormanen was appointed vice-chair, school board member Irene Bender was appointed as clerk, and McConkey was appointed treasurer, all by a unanimous vote.

Bjork originally nominated school board member Mark Linder for treasurer, but Linder declined, saying he was discouraged from holding that position on a board by the company he works for as a financial planner.

It was decided that school board meetings will still take place the fourth Thursday of the month at 7 p.m., with work meetings taking place the second Monday of the month at 7 p.m.

The official depositories for school board funds will remain the same as in the past.

The official newspaper for the school board will remain the Enterprise-Dispatch.

Compensation for school board members will also remain the same. Members receive $50 for each meeting they attend, $100 if the meeting is longer than four hours.

School board members also designated committees for each member to take part in. While many will remain on the same committees they have been on in the past, some changes were made to fill the committee openings vacated by Dahlman.

Committees appointments include the following:

• Minnesota State High School League: McConkey.

• Community Education/Early Childhood Family Education: Clemen and McConkey.

• Meeker and Wright Special Eduction Cooperative (MAWSECO) joint powers board: Tormanen.

• Curriculum advisory committee: Linder and Bjork.

• Minnesota School Board Association (MSBA) legislative liaison: Linder.

• Technology committee: Tormanen and Bjork.

• Schools for Equity and Education: Tormanen and Bender.

The next regular meeting of the DC School Board will take place Jan. 27.

News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.

Advertise in over
250+ MN newspapers