Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Want to see the full newspaper including all the photos? Check out our online edition here:
Herald Journal | DC Enterprise-Dispatch | Delano Herald Journal
What’s on the ballot?
OCT. 29, 2012

By Kristen Miller
News Editor

Political advertisements will soon come to an end as voters make their final decisions Election Day Tuesday, Nov. 6.

Polls will be open at voters’ respective precincts from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

In addition to the candidates and two constitutional amendments, citizens of Cokato will be voting whether or not the city should be allowed to issue on-sale liquor licenses for the sale of intoxicating liquor on Sundays.

The question on the ballot reads: Shall the City Council be allowed to issue on-sale liquor licenses to restaurants, clubs, bowling centers, and hotels for the sale of intoxicating liquor on Sundays? Yes or No.

In addition, the voters in Kingston Township will decide whether or not to hold township officer elections in March, when the majority of townships hold elections.

The question will read: Shall the second Tuesday in March of each year be designated as the date of the Kingston Township general election? Yes or No.

Candidates on the ballot

This year is a general election year and due to redistricting, all offices are up for election.

On the ballot for local offices are candidates for the cities of Dassel, Cokato, Kingston, and Darwin, along with Dassel-Cokato School Board.

City of Dassel

On the ballot to serve the four-year term of mayor are Larry Oberg, Jeffrey Putnam, and Mike Scanlon, incumbent (i).

On the ballot to serve the two four-year terms on the council are Jack Adam (i), Sharon Asplin, Sara Bollman Nelson, Jonathan Haapala, and Bob Lalone (i).

City of Cokato

All candidates seeking office in Cokato are incumbents and are unoppossed.

Gordy Erickson is running for his second two-year term of mayor, and incumbents Butch Amundsen and Carl Harju are running for four-year terms on the council.

City of Darwin

On the ballot in Darwin is incumbent Josh Johnson, who is running unopposed for his second two-year term as mayor.

There are also two seats open on the council – that of Tim Matheson, and retired council member Diane Porth.

The three candidates seeking these two four-year terms are Jeremy Cates, Mark Gabrielson, and Sarah Kotila.

City of Kingston

Residents of the city of Kingston will be voting on candidates for city council, but will not be voting on the dissolution of the city until March 12, in which a referendum will be conducted in conjunction with township elections.

All three candidates seeking office are unopposed. On the ballot for mayor is James Herda, and running for city council are Peter Axford and Van Zwettler.

DC School Board

There are three running unopposed on the Dassel-Cokato School Board for four-year terms. They are Irene Bender of Dassel, Mark Linder of Dassel, and Tracy McConkey of Cokato.

Candidates for county commissioner

Two candidates, Charlie Borrell (Woodland Township) and Leonard Wozniak (Stockholm Township) seek Wright County Commissioner District 5, which covers cities of Cokato, Howard Lake, Waverly, Montrose, and Delano, along with the townships of Stockholm, Cokato, French Lake, Middleville, Victor, Woodland, Marysville, and Franklin.

Beth Oberg (Litchfield) and James Swenson (Litchfield) seek the Meeker County Commissioner District 1 seat, which includes the city of Darwin, Darwin Township, and Litchfield wards two, three, and four.

Mike Housman (Kingston Township) and Wally Strand (Kingston Township) seek the seat of Meeker County Commissioner District 4, which includes the cities of Dassel and Kingston, along with the townships of Dassel and Kingston.

Tim Benoit (Collinwood Township) and Bryan Larson (Greenleaf Township) seek the seat of Meeker County Commissioner District 3, which includes the townships of Collinwood, Ellsworth, Greenleaf, Danielson, Cosmos, Acton, and Cedar Mills, and the cities of Cosmos and Cedar Mills.


In Kingston Township, there are two open seats, clerk and supervisor. Those seeking office are incumbents Gail Schiefelbein and Ned Root.

In Darwin Township, there are two seats open, that of clerk (currently served by Hildur Carlson), and the supervisor position currently served by Eric Gabrielson.

Gabrielson has filed and is running unopposed. No one filed for the clerk position and therefore will be dependent on a write-in.

News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.

Advertise in over
250+ MN newspapers