Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Want to see the full newspaper including all the photos? Check out our online edition here:
Herald Journal | DC Enterprise-Dispatch | Delano Herald Journal
Wozniak, Benoit advance to general election in their counties
Aug. 20, 2012

By Kristen Miller
News Editor

Voter turnout in the primary elections for Meeker and Wright counties were above the state average, with 9.8 percent of registered voters coming out Tuesday to determine the top two commissioner candidates on the November ballot.

In Wright County, there were eight candidates on the ballot for District 5, though candidate Paul Schoborg withdrew prior to the primaries. Leonard Wozniak of Stockholm Township and Charlie Borrell of Waverly both passed incumbent Richard “Dick” Mattson for the November ballot, therefore Borrell and Wozniak will appear on November’s ballot. Wozniak received 340 votes, Borrell had 367 votes, and Mattson was third in line with 313 votes.

Candidate Dan Vick had 247 votes, while Vickie Nibbe had 175 votes, Larry Bartels had 132 of the votes, Tom LaPlant with 36, and Schoborg with 28 votes.

In Meeker County Commissioner District 3, Tim Benoit of Collinwood Township and Bryan Larson of Greenleaf Township will be on the November ballot.

Larson received 233 votes and Benoit had 99 votes. Michael Degner of Cosmos Township received 34 votes.

The number of registered voters in Meeker County as of 7 a.m. Tuesday was 13,401. Of those, 1,316 voters came out to the primaries.

In Wright County, of 69,839 registered voters, 6,678 turned out for the primaries.

News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.

Advertise in over
250+ MN newspapers