Herald Journal - Enterprise Dispatch - Delano Herald Journal
Want to see the full newspaper including all the photos? Check out our online edition here:
Townships set direction
March 20, 2017

By Starrla Cray
Associate Editor

WRIGHT COUNTY, MEEKER COUNTRY, MN – Area townships conducted elections and annual meetings Tuesday.

Stockholm Township

Stockholm Township had 99 voters. For supervisor, Dan Sangren was re-elected with 73 votes, and candidate Larry DeRosier received 26 votes.

For treasurer, Cecilie Sangren was re-elected with 91 votes, and the remainder were various write-ins or empty.

The levy was set the same as last year, at $290,000.

Collinwood Township

In Collinwood Township, 18 votes were cast. Randy Holm was re-elected as supervisor for a three-year term, and Michelle Schnitzler was re-elected as treasurer for a two-year term.

Voters approved the budget for 2018 as $246,000, which is the same amount as last year.

Kingston Township

In Kingston Township, there were 10 voters. Supervisor Ned Root and treasurer Mary Filzen were re-elected with all 10 votes.

The general levy was set at $65,700, the road/bridge levy was set at $194,300, and the fire/rescue levy was set at $42,509.

The five-year road plan is to seal coat 732nd Avenue, and to overlay 323rd Street and 330th Street.

Also at the annual meeting, it was decided that Kingston Township will not be taking over ownership of the Lake Francis south side boat landing from Meeker County.

French Lake Township

French Lake Township had a total of 34 voters. The ballot included a question about allowing the appointment (instead of election) of the treasurer and clerk positions.

The question passed, with 23 people voting “yes,” and eight people voting “no.”

Casey Weber received 34 votes for a supervisor seat that was open due to the passing of past supervisor Mike Granquist in December 2016. (Granquist had served on the board for 25 years.)

For treasurer, Lucille Eckholm was re-elected with 34 votes.

The levy for 2018 was set at $293,700, split between the general fund ($60,000), road/bridge ($150,000), fire/rescue ($53,700), and equipment ($30,000).

Future projects and purchases include replacement of plow truck, other equipment upgrades, and tar road repair.

The annual road maintenance meeting and ride-a-long is scheduled for Tuesday, April 25, starting at 9 a.m. at the township hall.

Dassel Township

In Dassel Township, David Isaacson was re-elected to a three-year supervisor term with 18 votes, and Galen Nyman was re-elected to a two-year term as treasurer with 18 votes.

Levy numbers stayed the same as last year, totaling $330,000. The general levy was set at $40,000, road/bridge levy at $79,000, fire/rescue levy at $36,000, and the capital levy at $175,000.

As of the end of 2016, the general bond balance was $716,969.

Ellsworth Township

In Ellsworth Township, Dave Jutz was elected to fill the remainder of a supervisor term (one year) with 30 votes. Roger Warner was re-elected as supervisor to a three-year term with 25 votes, and Elvera Smith was re-elected as treasurer for a two-year term with 29 votes. There were a total of 30 voters, and there were three write-in votes for supervisor.

The general levy was set at $23,000, the fire and rescue levy was set at $46,000 (up $1,000 from last year), and the road/maintenance levy was set at $200,000 (up $20,000 from last year).

Cokato Township

In Cokato Township, Jim Danielson was re-elected as supervisor for a three-year term with 21 votes, and Nancy Dahlman was re-elected as treasurer for a two-year term with 27 votes. There were six write-in votes for supervisor.

Citizens set the levy at $389,000.

News and Information. Advertising and Marketing.

Advertise in over
250+ MN newspapers