Farm Horizons, November 2008

State honors 90 farmsteads

In honor of Minnesota’s Sesquicentennial, the Minnesota Department of Agriculture (MDA) is recognizing families that have retained ownership of their land for 150 years or more. This marks the first year acknowledging sesquicentennial farms in Minnesota.

Ninety sesquicentennial families registered their farms with the MDA earlier this year. Each was invited to participate in a recognition ceremony with Minnesota Agriculture Commissioner Gene Hugoson Aug. 25.

During the ceremony, families were honored for their support of Minnesota agriculture with a certificate of recognition signed by Gov. Tim Pawlenty and Hugoson.

The sesquicentennial farm recognition program will become an annual event through a partnership with the Minnesota Farm Bureau.

The 2008 Minnesota Sesquicentennial Farms are as follows:

Benton County: James Donovan, 1857, Foley.

Blue Earth County: 7 Dobie Siblings, 1856, Amboy.

Brown County: Yvonne Blomquist, 1857, Hanska.

Carver County: John and Mary Eklund, 1859, Watertown; Shirley and Meldon Melcher, 1859, Norwood Young America; Charles and Joan Wagner, 1858, Chaska.

Dakota County: Ben Boyum, 1856, Northfield; Oren Larson, 1855, Lakeville.

Faribault County: Janet and Dennis Nelson, 1856, Winnebago; Larry C. Stevermer, 1856, Easton.

Fillmore County: Robert and Marlene Connelly, 1857. Lanesboro; Donald Gjerdrum, 1854, Mabel; Randall Grabau, 1856, Spring Valley; Martha and Richard Gullickson, 1854, Lanesboro; Neil and Lois Halverson, 1854, Mabel; Virgil Hogie and Jelon Hogie, 1854, Lanesboro; Kent and Julia Jacobson, 1856, Rushford; Lester and Jessie King, 1856, Spring Valley; Robert and Marcia Love/Jim and Shannon Love, 1856, Preston; Charlotte Nelson, 1853, Canton; Marjorie Patwell, 1856, Harmony; Michael and Susan Tangen, 1857, Fountain; Scott and Jean Winslow, 1854, Fountain.

Freeborn County: Ole and Aimee Olson, 1857, Albert Lea.

Goodhue County: Marvin and Carl Bang, 1856, Red Wing; James and Terry Braaten, 1856, Nerstrand; Joan and Harold Melhouse, 1856, Cannon Falls.

Houston County: Lucille Omodt Crow, 1854, Houston; Janice and Arlen Doely, 1858, Spring Grove; Steve Guberud, 1854, Spring Grove; Michael Jetson, 1857, Spring Grove; Harlan L. Johnsrud, 1855, Spring Grove; Glenn Kinneberg – Kinneberg Family Farm, 1856, Spring Grove; Lois and Allan Morken, 1854, Spring Grove; Sheldon Family Farms, 1856 Houston.

Le Sueur County: Rosemary, Randy and Annette Boutwell, 1853, Kasota; Kevin Clinton and Martha Clinton Weisgram, 1856, Madison Lake; Jerry and Shirley Kajer, 1856, New Prague; Donna and Darrell Knish, 1857, Kilkenney; James Meagher, 1856, Madison Lake.

Martin County: James Fowler and Mary Fowler, 1858, Truman.

McLeod County: David and Donna Anderson, 1854, Lester Prairie; Clinton Halvorson, 1856, Lester Prairie; Michael Keenan, 1857, Glencoe; Robert and Laurence Otto, 1857, Lester Prairie.

Meeker County: Milton Housman, 1856, Litchfield.

Morrison County: Joseph Klein, 1855, Bowlus.

Mower County: Shirley Peck, 1856, Austin.

Nicollet County: Cletus and Rosemary Franta, 1854, New Ulm; Fred and Judy Hanson/Fred and Janet Netz/Ralph and Carolyn Miner, 1856, St. Peter; Emilie Lokensgard and Charles Johnson, 1857, St. Peter; LouAnn and Perry Meyer, 1858, New Ulm; David Rengstorf, 1858, Courtland; Howard and Jane Swenson/Paul and Cindy Swenson, 1857, Nicollet.

Olmstead County: James Burnap, 1856, Chatfield; Michael and Linda Frost, 1855, Pine Island; Bob Meyer, 1858, Elgin; Carlton Swan, 1854, Eyota.

Rice County: Harold Bloomer, 1855, Morristown; Delbert Bultman, 1857, Kenyon; Fred and Barbara Grote, 1856, Kenyon; Elsie Keller, 1855, Nerstrand; Carol Fyrand Lacey, 1854, Kenyon; Doug and Barbara Story, 1857, Kenyon.

Scott County: Roger and Clyde Busse, 1850, Prior Lake; Marvin and Mary Klehr, 1859, Shakopee; Walbert and Nordis Meinke, 1858, Webster; Jay and Laureen Picha, 1857, Shakopee; Brad and Sue Schultz, 1859, Jordan.

Sherburne County: Neal and Judy Weis, 1856, St. Cloud.

Sibley County: George Doheny, 1857, Henderson; Gerald Kreger, 1858, Henderson; David Muchow, 1853, Winthrop; Victor and Trisha Zeiher, 1855, Henderson.

Stearns County: Joyce Hansen and Patrick Hansen, 1855, Rockville; Robert Moeller, 1857, St. Cloud; David Morriem, 1855, St. Cloud; Helen and Russ Prill, 1850, Richmond; Jerome Schroeder, 1856, St. Joseph; Cyndi and Mike Schulzetenberge, 1856, Belgrade; Ken Zumwalde, 1855, Cold Spring.

Steele County: Luverne Elsner, 1855, Owatonna.

Wabasha County: Vincent and Sheri Sexton, 1858, Millville.

Waseca County: Myrwood A. Bagne, 1857, Waseca.

Washington County: Thomas G. Armstrong, 1853, Lake Elmo; Betty and Wayne Schilling, 1857, Woodbury.

Winona County: David DeLano, John DeLano and Susan Andrea, 1856, Winona; Ray and Diane Radatz, 1856, Lewiston.

Wright County: Richard Lindenfelser, 1856, Albertville; Florence Roth and June Sutton, 1848, Delano.

Farm Horizons: Main Menu | 2008 Stories

Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds
Guides | Sitemap | Search | Dassel-Cokato Home | Delano Home | HJ Home