Farm Horizons, June 2018

Awards presented at Carver Co. dairy event

The 66th annual Carver County Dairy Day dinner and princess coronation, “Undeniably Dairy,” took place April 7 at the Mayer Community Center.

The event also marked the 11th year of the Carver County Dairy Ambassador program, and the 66th year of crowning the lovely young ladies who will serve as Carver County’s dairy princesses.

This year’s princesses are Lisa Brueggemeier of Carver, Amy Broll of Chaska, and Laura Grimm of Waconia.

All three princesses are eligible to compete at the Minnesota Statewide Princess Training Workshop, “May Event,” Friday, May 18 through Sunday, May 20 at College of St. Benedict in St. Joseph.

While there, they have the opportunity to interview to become one of 12 Princess Kay of the Milky Way finalists. Finalists then compete at the Princess Kay of the Milky Way competition in August.

Other awards and presentations were also made during the dairy day dinner and princess coronation:

2018 Carver County dairy princesses are: Lisa Brueggemeier, Amy Broll, and Laura Grimm.

The 2018 Carver County Farm Family was announced at the Carver County Dairy Day event – 7 C’s Dairy, owned by the Vinkemeier family – Cadee, Canton, Christina, Jeff, Carley, Landon, Collin, Courtney, and Caleb.

Mark Omann from Culver’s in Waconia received the 2018 Golden Butterknife Award for the restaurant.

Barb Grimm of Waconia received the 2018 Milk Pitcher Award.

2018 Carver County Senior Dairyman award went to Dennis Wickenhauser of Cologne and his wife, Bernice.

Larry and Deb Drier of Norwood Young America received the Carver County Farm Bureau Special DHIA High Herd Award.

Nancy Wandersee of Watertown was named 2018 Carver County Farm Woman of the Year.

FFA dairy judging winners were Cadee Vinkemeier, Central chapter; Summer Steinhoff, Southwest Metro chapter; and Wyatt Tesch, Watertown-Mayer chapter.

Farm Horizons: Main Menu | 2018 Stories

Herald Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries | Classifieds | HJ Home