CITY OF HOWARD LAKE
AMENDING CITY OF HOWARD LAKE LIQUOR "SET-UPS" BY AMENDING SAID ORDINANCE IN ITS ENTIRETY
The City of Howard Lake does hereby ordain as follows:
Section 1. It shall be unlawful for any private club or public place directly, indirectly or upon any pretense or by any device to serve or allow the serving of, for the purpose of mixing with intoxicating liquor, any liquid without first securing a permit from the liquor control commissioner and obtaining a license as hereafter provided.
Section 2. Every private club desiring to allow the sale of beverages for mixing with intoxicating liquor, hereafter referred to as "set-ups," shall on or before July 1 of each year pay to the City Clerk a fee of $25.00 for a license so to do and shall be issued a written receipt therefore. Every business establishment open to the general public desiring to allow the sale of beverages for mixing with intoxicating liquor, hereinafter referred to as "set-ups," shall on or before July 1 of each year pay to the City Clerk a fee of $150.00 for a license so to do and shall be issued a written receipt therefor. If a portion of the year is elapsed when payment is made, a pro rata fee shall be paid. In computing such fee, any unexpired portion of a month shall be counted as one month. The license issued by the City Council shall be posted in a conspicuous place upon the premises along side the permit issued by the liquor commissioner and shall be kept posted at all times.
Section 3. Each application for a license to sell set-ups shall state the name of the applicant, his age, representations as to his character, with such references as the Council may require, his citizenship, the type of license applied for, the business in connection with which the proposed license will operate and its location, whether the applicant is owner and operator of the business, how long he has been in that business at that place and such other information as the council may require from time to time. The application shall be in the form prescribed by the liquor control commissioner and shall be verified and filed with the City Clerk. No person shall make a false statement in an application.
Section 4. The regulatory provisions of Minnesota statute 340.119 are incorporated herein completely as though set out in full insofar as said Statute relates to a set-up license. No person under the age of 21 years shall be permitted to loiter or remain on any premises licensed under Minnesota Statute 340.119 and this Ordinance unless accompanied by parent or guardian.
Section 5. This ordinance does not apply to any premises licensed for the sale of intoxicating liquor.
Section 6. Any person violating any provision of this ordinance is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by a fine not exceeding $700.00 and/or by imprisonment for a period not exceeding ninety (90) days or both. This Ordinance shall be in full force and effect upon its passage and publication.
Adopted by the Cry Council this 7th day of April 1998.
Mark Custer, Mayor
ATTEST: Gene Gilbert, City Clerk