var sid = 454; var aid = 3;

Winsted City Council Minutes

Jan. 2, 2002

City Hall

6:00 PM

workshop - Airport

Present: Don Guggemos, Tom Wiemiller, Bonnie Quast, Tom Ollig, Gary Lenz; Staff: Administrator Mareck, Clerk Zachmann; Airport Commission members: Russ Paschke, Ralph Diers, Brian Moorehead, Carol Kappel, Dave Millerbernd, Kevin Kubasch, Felix Quast and Arden Johnson.

SEH Engrs Bob Cohrs and Tom Homme were present. Discussion centered around the future expansion of the airport, fly zones, bituminous runway, previous and current Airport Plans, funding cycles for improvements, how the airport affects the Industrial Park, and other related issues.

Engr, Bob Cohrs reviewed the process that was done over the past two years, along with the plan that had been submitted to the State for approval. A decision from the State has not be received as of yet. Many options were discussed, some repeated from the previous meetings. Should the City be awarded a grant, funds by the City would need to go to the voters. Detailed questions took a fair amount of time. Until a decision comes from the State, no action or decisions will be made. Quast then motioned to adjourn, Ollig seconded, unanimously carried.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Regular Meeting 7:00 PM Present: Attorney Eggert, Bldg. Inspector P. Waldron

Mayor called the meeting to order. Lenz motioned to accept the minutes as written, Wiemiller seconded, unanimously carried.

Airport and Industrial Park futures were revisited. Acting on a possible solution for compatibility, Lenz motioned to empower the Mayor and Administrator to approach several abutting property owners to the Airport and Ind. Park to establish if there is interest in possible purchase. Quast seconded, unanimously carried. Administrator Mareck reported discussion with FAA, and a meeting will be set up to meet for more discussion.

Upon recommendation from the Mayor, Lenz motioned the following appointments for 2002:

Deputy Mayor Tom Ollig; Official Depository Winsted Community Bank, 4 M Fund, LMC; Official Newspaper Herald Journal Publishing; Fire Chief Paul Herbolsheimer

Wiemiller seconded, unanimously carried.

Administrator Mareck had completed probation with positive comments, Lenz motioned to appoint Mareck full time, permanent employee, Quast seconded, unanimously carried.

Waldron was present for discussion with council (Note: Mareck had sent a letter that Waldron requested, prior to the last meeting, and believed the permits being held would be delivered the next morning. An evolution of events occurred. A meeting with Mayor Guggemos, Council member Quast, Administrator Mareck and Building Inspector Paul Waldron was held, with Waldron verbally resigning as inspector.) Previous building inspector Erickson was asked to fill in during the interim. After a lengthy and some what controversial discussion, Ollig motioned to accept the resignation of Paul Waldron as Building Official, effective immediately, and to contact Metro West to begin immediately, if agreed to a similar contract, with similar fees for inspections, empowering the Mayor and Administrator to enter into contract, Quast seconded. Ayes: Ollig, Quast, Guggemos; Nays: Lenz and Wiemiller, motioned carried. (Metro West had given a presentation to the Council, as did Waldron, when the City was searching for a Building Official)

Mareck informed the council that after review by the LMC, it was advised to re-work the existing Personnel Policy. Staff will work on the new Policy and bring back for council ratification at a later date.

Bill Gilk was present with some concerns voiced during the conversations with Waldron.

Ollig motioned to pay the following bills:

General Chks. 3640-3675 $96,260.77

Chks.10476-10489 $48,599.35

Payroll Chks. 4087-4108 $13,870.98

Fire Dept. 3621-3624 $23,964.23

Wiemiller seconded, unanimously carried.

Quast motioned to adjourn, Lenz seconded, unanimously carried.

* Additional Appointments

Planning Commission Liaison Gary Lenz; Parks, Streets, Utilities Bonnie Quast; Fire Board Representative Tom Wiemiller; Airport Commission: Russ Paschke, Chmn Brian Moorehead, Ralph Diers, Dave Millerbernd, Carol Kappel, Clyde Kaelberer; City Attorney Fran Eggert

Betty Zachmann, City Clerk-Treas.

Return to City of Winsted Menu | Return to Government Table of Contents

Howard Lake-Waverly Herald & Winsted-Lester Prairie Journal
Stories | Columns | Obituaries
Community Guides | Special Topics | Cool Stuff | Search | Home Page